BAFTA announces jury list for “Breakthrough India” 2021; chaired by A R Rahman

Get Daily Updates In Email

Published by Ruchika Gaurav on 19 Apr 2021

The British Academy Film Awards or BAFTA Film Awards are presented in an annual award show hosted by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) to honor the best British and international contributions to film. BAFTA, today announced the illustrious list of jury members for its debut BAFTA Breakthrough India initiative, supported by Netflix. Distinguished professionals from across the film, games, and television industries came together to select this year’s talented honorees. The Jury will be chaired by BAFTA Breakthrough India Ambassador, A R Rahman. 

BAFTA invited candidates from across the country to apply for their flagship talent initiative ‘BAFTA Breakthrough India’. Due to an overwhelming number of quality applications from the films, games, and television industries nationwide, the initiative will recognize not five but ten emerging Indian talents across the three industries. 

“BAFTA is a platform where artists from around the world, including the best from India, are represented and celebrated, and it’s my honor to be a part of its Breakthrough India jury,” said AR Rahman

The ten chosen BAFTA Breakthrough India honorees will receive one-to-one mentoring and career guidance, full voting BAFTA membership, and access to BAFTA events and networking opportunities, both in the UK and internationally. 

Amid Pandemic, the jury met virtually and a sundry mix of national and international knowledge across the film, games, and television industries came across the same page together. 

  • List of Jurors 2021 include: A R Rahman – Jury Chair (Music Composer) 
  • Anupam Kher (Actor) 
  • Charu Desodt (Former BAFTA Breakthrough & Games Producer) 
  • Krishnendu Majumdar (BAFTA Chair and TV Producer) 
  • Mira Nair (Director/Writer/Producer) 
  • Monika Shergill (VP, Content, Netflix India) 
  • Shonali Bose (Director/Writer/Producer) 
  • Siddharth Roy Kapur (Founder & Producer at Roy Kapur Films) 

Amanda Berry OBE, Chief Govt at BAFTA, stated, “India has some of the fascinating artistic industries and is dwelling to so many gifted movies, video games, and tv practitioners.

Related Articles