Sachin Tendulkar Hails Virat Kohli’s Captaincy after India’s First Win at the ICC World Cup 2019

Get Daily Updates In Email

Published by Amrit Santlani on 06 Jun 2019

Sachin Tendulkar, former Indian batting legend made his debut in the commentary team during the World Cup 2019. He was also part of the panel that discussed India’s meeting with South Africa. At the mid-innings break, Sachin Tendulkar made a short appearance where he shared his views about India’s performance in the World Cup 2019 opener.

Sachin was very impressed with how Virat Kohli took the field and juggled his bowlers, to rain fire on South African batsmen, who succumbed to the Indian bowling attack.  He also said Kagiso Rabada will come in handy for South Africa he starts well with the bowl.

“Would like to single Jasprit Bumrah, he created pressure on the batters with his pace and bounce,” Tendulkar said at the mid-innings break.

“The field placement also showed Virat Kohli’s pro-active captaincy,” Tendulkar added. Elsewhere, Yuzvendra Chahal grabbed four wickets, helping India restrict South Africa to a sub-par 227 for 9. After winning the toss, South African captain Faf du Plessis decided to bat first, but India wreaked havoc on the Proteas.

With Jasprit Bumrah (10-1-35-2) setting the tone with twin blows in his opening spell, Chahal (10-0-51-4) then tightened the noose on South African batsmen as they could never really force the pace during the middle overs. Incidentally, this was the best 10-over single spell (in terms of wickets taken) by any bowler in a World Cup game.

South Africa’s total got some semblance of respectability courtesy Chris Morris (42 off 34) and Kagiso Rabada (31 not out off 35), who shared a much needed 66-run stand for the eighth wicket. However, the star of the match would be Rohit Sharma, as the vice-captain of the Indian cricket team held his nerve, despite losing his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan early.

Rahit kept his calm and scored a century to propel India towards their first win of the ODI World Cup 2019. Next up, five-time World Champions and current defending champions Australia await.

Related Articles